Gem Golfer Blog
Golf News

Tiger Woods and latest World Golf Hall of Fame class to be inducted during 2022 Players week

The World Golf Hall of Fame’s Class of 2021 finally has a date for induction. Tiger Woods, Susie Maxwell Berning, Tim Finchem and the late Marion Hollins will formally be honored on March 9, 2022 during a ceremony at PGA Tour Headquarters in Ponte Vedra Beach a day before the first round of the Players Championship.

The four inductees’ election to the WGHOF came in spring 2020, with the ceremony originally scheduled to take place in 2021. But the COVID-19 pandemic caused Hall of Fame officials to push back the induction until 2022. On Thursday, the official date was released.

This weekend, a new exhibit highlighting the accomplishments of the four honorees will debut at the Hall of Fame in St. Augustine, Fla. Personal items, trophies and memorabilia from the careers of the foursome will be on display.

In addition to the new Hall of Fame members, Dick Ferris and Peter Ueberroth will be recognized as the first recipients of the newly created lifetime achievement award for contributions to the game. Renee Powell will also be honored as the inaugural winner of the Charlie Sifford Award for advancing diversity in the sport.

Woods, Maxwell Berning, Finchem and Hollins were named from a group of 10 finalists in 2020 that also included Johnny Farrell, Padraig Harrington, Tom Weiskopf, Beverly Hanson, Sandra Palmer and Dottie Pepper.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on Golf Channel. This is the first time the induction will take place in Florida since 2013 with the most recent ceremonies coming at St. Andrews, Scotland (2015), New York City (2017) and Pebble Beach (2019).

Related posts

LIV Golf’s quest for World Ranking points is taking a strange twist


Tiger Woods had Serious Leg Injuries after high-speed Crash

Gem Golfers

Billy Horschel Outlasts Scottie Scheffler to win WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play for Sixth TOUR Title

Gem Golfers