PGA Tour: BMW Championship 2020

The BMW Championship is a professional and robust golf competition which is the penultimate (second last) FedEx Cup playoff golf event on the PGA Tour. Introduced in 2007, the BMW Championship is a new name of the Western Open. The Western Golf Association, which established and ran the Western Open, runs the BMW Championship. In 2012, 2013, and 2014, the PGA Tour named the BMW Championship its Tournament of the Year.

FedEx Cup Playoffs Format, Defending Champion, Prize Money

The BMW Championship at Olympia Fields North Course is open to the best 70 PGA Tour golf players following The Northern Trust. With just 70 players within the field, there is no 36-hole cut. FedEx Cup points amassed during the ordinary PGA Tour season and afterward during The Northern Trust decide the participants. The top 30 FedEx Cup points leaders following the BMW Championship set off to final playoff golf event, The Tour Championship, where the FedEx Cup Champion will be determined.

Tiger Woods won the very first staging of the event at Cog Hill Golf and club in Lemont, Illinois. Tiger won again in 2009, turning into the first multi-victor of the tournament. He’s since been joined by Dustin Johnson, who is super-hot presently following his success at TPC Boston. BMW Championship is slated for August 27 through 30. The purse for the 2020 BMW Championship is set at $9.5 million. Young Justin Thomas set off to the 2020 BMW Championship looking to defend his title.

2020 BMW Championship odds:

Dustin Johnson 7-1
Jon Rahm 10-1
Justin Thomas 12-1
Bryson DeChambeau 12-1
Rory McIlroy 16-1
Xander Schauffele 18-1
Webb Simpson 20-1
Collin Morikawa 22-1
Daniel Berger 22-1
Patrick Reed 28-1
Jason Day 28-1
Scottie Scheffler 33-1

Current top 10 (Post-Northern Trust)

The standings can and will change a lot in a short timeframe. A year ago, Abraham Ancer began the playoffs at 67th, simply inside the cut line to make it to the second event. At the point when he completed second at the first event, he moved into the top 10 and set off East Lake. So, let’s take a look at the top 10 golf power rankings for the 2020 BMW Championship.

1. Dustin Johnson

With constrained course history to depend upon, should begin with the person that simply won by 11 shots. Johnson’s head-turning performance at TPC Boston may have been his career-best, and it presently gives him a leg on the field as he looks to make sure about the best position heading into East Lake.

2. Webb Simpson

He followed a T-3 completion at Wyndham with a T-6 showing at TPC Boston. Still, probably the best player on Tour this season and with two wins already to his credit, he presently heads to a course whose little greens should accentuate the advantage he has with iron in hand.

3. Bryson DeChambeau

Power man comes back to the site of his 2015 U.S. Amateur win and featured as a professional golfer. A week ago, missed cut was seemingly an aberration, as he still leads the Tour in SG: Off the tee and has racked up eight top-10 completions in his last 11 starts, including a big win Rocket Mortgage Classic in June.

4. Justin Thomas

Last year Thomas utilized this occasion to put an exclamation point on an injury-plagued season. However, he already won at WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational 3 weeks back. He was undone by a balky putter a week ago in The Northern Trust but remains the Tour’s tee-to-green leader, meaning that it won’t take a lot of improvement for the greens to return him in contention.

5. Collin Morikawa

Collin Morikawa is considering as a dark horse that already won the two-title including the PGA Championship after the post-pandemic playoff. His early exit from TPC Boston was fairly surprising however barely becomes a reason to worry. Presently the tables are turned as he’ll have a gut to surprise all the viewer this week.

6. Daniel Berger

With all due regard to Johnson or Morikawa, Berger has a place in the conversation of best player on Tour since the break. His third-place finish at The Northern Trust was his fourth result of T-3 or better in six starts, a stretch that incorporates his victory at Colonial and a runner-up at a WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational 3 weeks back in Memphis. He is playing the best golf of his career at an opportune time and is the strokes gained leader since competition resumed two months ago.

7. Jon Rahm

It’s an intense gig when you finish T-6 and lose the top position on the Official World Golf Ranking. Such was Rahm’s situation a week ago, where a strong outing wasn’t sufficient to keep Johnson from the No. 1 spot. He also won the Memorial Tournament 2020 in the previous month. All things considered, Rahm sits fourth in complete gained and seventh in SG: Tee-to-Green this season and heads to Chicago closely following a last round 65 in The Northern Trust [Massachusetts].

8. Xander Schauffele

Schauffele’s T-25 completion at The Northern Trust was really his worst ever result in six starts going back to June. While he hasn’t won in over a year and a half, he has been amazingly consistent this summer and positions fifth on Tour this season in SG: Tee-to-Green. Expect another reliable performance this week close to the Windy City.

9. Scottie Scheffler

He got 59 overshadowed by the possible champ, however, Scheffler’s recent trend is still promising. That is presently four straight top-25 completions for the former Texas product, including two T-4 results in a row. Scheffler solid showed both last week The Northern Trust and at 2020 PGA CHAMPIONSHIP that he has the chops to contend on a major stage, and now he’s amidst a compelling Rookie of the Year race with Viktor Hovland as both solidify Tour Championship compartments this week.

10. Harris English

The veteran was a runner-up at TPC Boston last week. He was a top on the leaderboard after finishing the round 1 at The Northern Trust But that was simply the latest instalment in a consistent season that included 11 top-20 finishes and has him up to sixth in total strokes gained this season.

Here are the winners of BMW Championship:

2007 Tiger Woods
2008 Camilo Villegas
2009 Tiger Woods
2010 Dustin Johnson
2011 Justin Rose
2012 Rory McIlroy
2013 Zach Johnson
2014 Billy Horschel
2015 Jason Day
2016 Dustin Johnson
2017 Marc Leishman
2018 Keegan Bradley
2019 Justin Thomas

Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *